Album Cuts – JOURNEY: E5c4p3


All songs written and composed by Steve Perry, Neal Schon and Jonathan Cain, except where noted.

Side 1:

  1. “Don’t Stop Believin'” –¬†4:11
  2. “Stone in Love”¬†–¬†4:26
  3. “Who’s Crying Now” (Perry, Cain) – 5:01
  4. “Keep on Runnin'” – 3:40
  5. “Still They Ride” – 3:50

Side 2

  1. “Escape” –¬†5:17
  2. “Lay It Down” – 4:13
  3. “Dead or Alive” –¬†3:21
  4. “Mother, Father” (Matt Schon, N. Schon, Perry, Cain) –¬†5:29
  5. “Open Arms” (Perry, Cain) – 3:23

Journey is an American rock band that formed in San Francisco in 1973.¬†The band has gone through several phases; its strongest commercial success occurred between 1978 and 1987, after which it temporarily disbanded. During that period, the band released a series of hit songs, including 1981’s “Don’t Stop Believin’“, which in 2009 became the top-selling track in iTunes history amongst songs not released in the 21st century.

Steve Perry РLead Vocals

Neal Schon – Guitarist, Backing Vocals

Jonathan Cain – Keyboards, Piano, Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals

Steve Smith¬†–¬†Drums, Percussionist

Ross Valory¬†–¬†Bassist, Backing Vocals

Escape (stylized as E5C4P3 on the album cover) is the seventh studio album by American rock band Journey, released on July 31, 1981 by Columbia Records label. Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California between April & June 1981. Produced by Mike Stone & Kevin Elson.

Escape topped the American Billboard 200 chart¬†and features four hit Billboard Hot 100¬†singles¬†‚Äď “Don’t Stop Believin’” (#9), “Who’s Crying Now” (#4), “Still They Ride” (#19) and “Open Arms” (#2)¬†‚Äď plus rock radio staple “Stone in Love.” It was certified 9x platinum by the RIAA¬†and sold over twelve million copies worldwide, making it the band’s most successful studio album and second most successful album overall behind¬†Greatest Hits.

Escape was the band’s first album with keyboardist Jonathan Cain who replaced founding keyboardist Gregg Rolie¬†after he left the band at the end of 1980. The album was co-produced by former Lynyrd Skynyrd soundman,¬†Kevin Elson and one-time Queen engineer Mike Stone, who also engineered the album.

Mike DeGagne of AllMusic retrospectively awarded Escape four-and-a-half stars out of five, writing, “The songs are timeless, and as a whole, they have a way of rekindling the innocence of youthful romance and the rebelliousness of growing up, built from heartfelt songwriting and sturdy musicianship”.¬†Colin Larkin awarded the album four out of five stars in the 2002 edition of the Virgin Encyclopedia of Popular Music.¬†Contemporary Rolling Stone reviews were less favorable. The first review of 1981 by Deborah Frost marked Journey as heavy metal posers and the music in the album as easily playable by any session musician. In the 2004 edition of their album guide, Rolling Stone awarded the album two-and-a-half stars out of five, which was nonetheless an improvement from Dave Marsh’s one star rating in the 1983 edition of the publication.¬†The same critic years later wrote that “Journey, originally a progressive rock band, experienced strong resentment from many music critics after they embraced the pop sensibilities of the 1980s with smash hits like “Don’t Stop Believin'” and “Open Arms”.

In 1988, Kerrang! readers voted Escape the greatest AOR album of all time.¬†The following year, the magazine ranked¬†Escape #32 in “The 100 Greatest Heavy Metal Albums of All Time”.¬†A 2000 Virgin poll saw the album voted the 24th greatest heavy metal/alternative rock album of all time.¬†In 2001, Classic Rock ranked the album #22 in “The 100 Greatest Rock Albums of All Time”.¬†In 2006, the same publication recognized the importance of the album’s contribution to popular music in the 1980s by including it in their “The 200 Greatest Albums of the 80s” as one of the twenty greatest albums of 1981.¬†Q magazine ranked Escape 15th in its “Records it’s OK to Love” in 2006.


An Atari 2600 game based on the album, Journey Escape, was released in 1982.

Current track